2023 English and Writing Programs Awards Honorees

June 2, 2023

Congratulations to the 2023 Department of English and Writing Programs undergraduate award recipients!

Department of English Awards

English Department Essay Award

Rainer Lee
Ramona Mukherji

Clara Rusk Hastings Scholarship for Excellence in the English 10 Series

Mishal Imaan Syed
Sophia Torres Pomares

Recognizing ACES 2023 Participants:

Sydney Chun
Caitlin Carmichael
Emma Carson
Cory Chen
Yaser Cisneros
Shreya Dodballapur
David Egan
Aleea Evangelista
Megan Fu
Ashley Kim
Kate Green
Christina Jang
Mehr Juneja
Ella Moore
Ramona Mukherji
Eli Nachimson
Kelsey Olarte
Angela Patel
Daisy Quinones
Anna Schoones
Nikki Wolin

The Barbara Bellow Watson Shakespeare Essay Contest

Amelia Boeh

Harold Dee Fox Memorial Scholarship for Outstanding Transfer Student Performance

Emma Horio

Department of English Creative Writing Contests

Prose Awards:

The Olfet Agrama Prize for Creative Writing

Gabrielle Bromberg

The May Merrill Miller Award

First: Alexandra Janku
Second: Mishal Imaan Syed

David Wong Louie Memorial Creative Writing Prize

Layla Knowles

The Christopher Zyda Creative Writing Prize

First: Kelsey Olarte
First: Andrew Checchia
Runner-up: Kristin Haegelin

The Ruth Brill Scholarship Award

First: Yaser Cisneros
Second: Benjamin Frandsen

The Shirley Collier Prize

Jade Lacy

Poetry Awards

The Fred and Edith Herman Memorial Prize from the Academy of American Poets

Winner: Mishal Imaan Syed
Honorable Mention: Lola Mia Jamin

The Shirle Dorothy Robbins Creative Writing Award

First: Jade Lacy
Second: Laureen Huynh
Honorable Mention: Ashley Kim

2022 Falling Leaves Prize

Jade Lacy

Department Honors

Khushi Bhasin. Honors. Faculty Mentor: Megan Stephan

Gabrielle Bromberg. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentor: Justin Torres

Kelsey Chan. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentor: Saree Makdisi

Kathleen Conley. Honors. Faculty Mentors: Chris Chism and Rob Watson

Rosemary Galloway. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentor: Danny Snelson

Max He. Honors. Faculty Mentor: Danny Snelson

Justin Huwe. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentor: Mitchum Huehls

Miró Justad. Honors. Faculty Mentor: Summer Kim Lee

Ashley Kim. Honors. Faculty Mentor: Reed Wilson

Jade Lacy. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentor: Mona Simpson (Winner of the 2022 Falling Leaves Prize)

Tyler Maher. Honors. Faculty Mentor: Justin Torres

Ella Moore. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentors: Marissa López and Blake Allmendinger

Kayleigh Morrissey. Honors. Faculty Mentor: Kathleen McHugh

Ana Ovsepyan. Honors. Faculty Mentor: Eleanor Kaufman

Allyson Roche. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentor: Louise Hornby

Justine Sargent. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentor: Joe Bristow (Awarded the 2023 Dean’s Prize for Excellence in Research and Creativity at Undergraduate Research Week.)

Jolie Sukonik. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentor: Helen Deutsch

Jessica Wong. Highest Honors. Faculty Mentor: Mona Simpson

Thompson Prize for Outstanding Senior Thesis

Kelsey Chan
Allyson Roche

Writing Programs Awards

Peter Rotter First-Year Writing Prizes

Mrinalini Keskar

Peter Rotter Essay Prize

Xinix Perla

Teague Melville Writing Awards

Mehr Juneja
Una Stevanovic
Jodi Wong

Tom Davey Science Writing Prize

Hannah Chu