Dublin Resources

Itinerary

Hibernian Metropolis Dublin Tour June 19-28, 2024

 

Wednesday, June 19

Fly LAX to Dublin.

Thursday, June 20

Arrival in Dublin; early check-in at Trinity College; recover. Group dinner.

Friday, June 21

ALL DAY: Coach tour to Newgrange and Boyne Valley.

Saturday, June 22

AM:  Local transit to Bray, then visit to the Martello tower in Sandycove (site of opening of Ulysses). Morning tour led by Christine O’Neill. Sandycove with Sam Slote?

PM: Visit to the National Library and Yeats exhibition.

Sunday, June 23

AM: Visit to the National Museum with Tim O’Neill.

PM: Meet near Dublin Castle for walk through Viking Dublin with Viking historian/archaeologist Howard Clarke. Along the way we will note points of literary interest along the Liffey.

Monday, June 24

ALL DAY: Coach tour to medieval monastic site of Glendalough. Drive through Wicklow and Beckett country. Feargal Whelan to guide us.

Tuesday, June 25

AM: A visit to the Book of Kells guided by Tim O’Neill. Lunch.

1:30PM: A visit to Glasnevin Cemetery.
4:30PM: A visit to Leinster House.

Wednesday, June 26

Day in Magherafelt to visit Seamus Heaney sites, culminating in a visit to HomePlace.

Thursday, June 27

AM: Morning free for sightseeing.  Ideas include the National Gallery, Phoenix Park, the Chester Beatty Museum, Museum of Modern Art, Museum of Irish Literature, EPIC.

PM: Afternoon visit to Sydney Parade and Sandymount guided by Christine O’Neill. Reception at O’Neill household. Farewell dinner in neighborhood.

Friday, June 28

Return to LAX.